Medical News

Medical Council election results announced for the new term of 2018-2023

By March 30, 2018 No Comments

The results of the Medical Council election were announced by Dublin County Sheriff Mr Fergus Gallagher. In total 21 candidates contested for six positions over the six panels in a bid to join the other 19 members who will make up the 25 lay majority council for the new Medical Council term.

The remaining 19 members will be made up by nominees from various other health bodies, regulators, the Minister for Health, and the Minister for Education. The new Council will begin their term on 1st June 2018, while the current Council and committees are due to remain in place until the 31st of May.

The following have been deemed elected by the returning officer:

Specialist Division – Anaesthesia: Dr Suzanne Crowe 

Dr Crowe is a Consultant in Pediatric Intensive Care Medicine working in Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin (OLCHC).

Specialist Division – Obstetrics and Gynaecology: Dr Aoife Mullally 

Dr Mullally is a Consultant Obstetrician & Gynaecologist working at the Coombe Women and Infants University Hospital, Dublin and the Midland Regional Hospital, Portlaoise.

Specialist Division – Pathology or Radiology: Dr Thomas Crotty 

Dr Crotty being a medical practitioner registered or able to be registered in the Specialist Division in relation to pathology or radiology, having been the only candidate nominated in this category, the returning officer has deemed Dr Crotty elected to the Medical Council unopposed.

Specialist Division – Public Health Medicine: Dr Anthony Breslin 

Dr Breslin is a Specialist in Communicable Diseases and Environmental Health in North West and is the current Vice President of the Medical Council.

One medical practitioner, not being a consultant, practising medicine in a hospital: Dr Erica Maguire 

Dr Maguire is a non-consultant hospital doctor currently on the Psychiatry Basic Specialist Training Scheme.

One registered medical practitioner, not falling within any of the other categories: Dr Marcus De Brun

Dr De Brun is a GP who has a practice in Dublin where he works as a sole practitioner.

The six vacancies arising on the Medical Council to be filled by the Minister will be advertised by the Public Appointments Service in the coming weeks.

Medical Council CEO, Mr Bill Prasifka, congratulated those who were elected, commenting: “Members of the Medical Council have an important role to play in promoting patient safety by working together to ensure high standards amongst doctors registered in Ireland.

“These past five years have been a very positive time for the Medical Council under the outgoing Council, with several significant changes taking place during their tenure, and I look forward to working with the newly elected members to ensure we continue that important work”.





Leave a Reply